End to Bring New Beginnings

day30

Today is Vegan Month of Food Day 30, which means today is the last day of #vgnmf15!  Our very last prompt of the year is a fusion challenge.  I thought I would share with you these Tabbouleh Spring Rolls I made on Monday night.  I brought them to work on Tuesday and they were a huge hit with my friends!

It’s Greek meets Asian cuisine with these little spring rolls!

IMG_2469

I was gifted with fresh straight from the garden mint from a friend at work.  These spring rolls also included broccoli, carrots, kale, and garlic.

IMG_2470

I have never in my life made a spring roll before.  The recipe I was following had really simple instructions.  Is it possible to make a spring roll so easily?  It is!  You soak the spring roll wrappers in warm water for 10-20 seconds, add filling, and roll up.  It’s that simple!

IMG_2471

Once they are all rolled up you place them in the fridge.  I wasn’t sure how long they were supposed to stay before eating, so I made them at night and brought them to work for lunch the next day.

IMG_2473

Look at how good they look!  🙂  I was very happy with how these came out.  Not pictured is the tahini sauce we used with them.  So good!

IMG_2474

So now I find myself at the end of my second Month of Food.  I did things a lot different this year.  I wasn’t quite as hard on myself for not being able to post and I didn’t sit and critique every one of my posts either.  I’m sad I couldn’t participate in every prompt but I am glad that I decided to do this again this year.  It really was enjoyable!  I didn’t get to meet as many people as I did last year, but that’s okay.  I don’t have to stop reaching out to people just because this month is over!  Just like I don’t feel the need to stop blogging just because I stressed myself out or posted too much.  This month I don’t feel the MoFo fatigue!  I feel as if I could keep writing even after this month has ended.

With the end of Vegan MoFo comes a new month:  OCTOBER!  I’m hoping to make this year the best I’ve had in my life.  Throughout my adult life October has been a difficult time for me.  I decided I’m going to change that this year.  This year I’m going to have a better attitude about my life and who I am as my birthday approaches.  I’m not going to get upset about turning another year older, or not being in a place I think I should be at this age.  I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be 🙂

And with October comes a new challenge:  #10in10!  Meal Mentor/Happy Herbivore is having a challenge throughout the month of October to lose 10 pounds.  I’m not sure I need to lose that much, but I have definitely gained weight and would like to get back on track to healthy eating.  I’ve already started this week with prepping all my meals ahead of time on Sunday.  I haven’t had to worry about food all week!  And it only took me less than 4 hours to do.  Along with making the stuffed peppers I also made:

IMG_2461

Creamy Dijon Pasta!

IMG_2482

Coconut Chickpea Curry!

IMG_2466

Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Oatmeal!

This worked out so well my plan is to continue to find time during the weekends to prep all my meals at once and then not worry about it again for the rest of the week.  I feel like I have so much more time to do things now that I’m not cooking every single day.  I saw all these people for months “batch cooking” or making all their meals at one time and I just wasn’t convinced it saved time for me.  I tried to do a bit of it in January but I ended up throwing out a lot of food.  Now that I know how much I’m going to need I think it’ll be better.  I can choose a couple family size recipes and an individual size recipe here and there for variety.  I’m really feeling good about this!  🙂

Thank you for joining me on this adventure throughout the month of September.  I won’t be posting all the time, but I plan to keep posting in the future with all the fun new vegan things I’m creating or learning about.  Hopefully you’ll continue to stop by.  🙂

Goodbye Vegan MoFo, and good night!

6 responses to “End to Bring New Beginnings

  1. Your spring rolls look great & the tahini sauce sounds awesome! Glad to hear you don’t feel the MoFo fatigue; I’m looking forward to your future posts! 😀

Leave a Reply

