Turn Back Tuesday

day20

Today is Vegan MoFo Day 29!  Only two full days left!  And I’m way behind on my prompts.  I missed posting a lot last week and over the weekend.  I’ve been busy 😦  There were some prompts that I didn’t want to miss though, so I decided to turn back time to MoFo day 20 and share my veganized family recipe!

I decided to veganize my mom’s stuffed peppers recipe.  I really can’t say that this is an old family recipe.  There is something about it though that sticks out in my memory.  I’m not sure if she just made it a lot when I was growing up, or it’s just one of those things that stays with you for a reason you don’t know.  There was something about them.  I think it was that maybe they smelled good, with all that garlic and onion, but it was made out of things that I found absolutely disgusting.  Ground beef?  Gross.  Peppers?  Ugh.  I never ate a stuffed pepper before in my life.  They ALWAYS have meat in them.  So I decided I had to try making a vegan version of my mom’s recipe that I can finally try myself!

Here is the non-vegan version:  WARNING! NOT VEGAN!

  • 6 green peppers, or use a combination of green and red bell peppers or other colors
  • 1 tablespoons butter
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 can (14.5 ounces) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 teaspoon dried leaf oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried leaf basil
  • 2 teaspoons salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef (at least 85%)
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked long-grain rice
  • shredded mild Cheddar cheese, about 1/2 to 3/4 cup, optional
  • Prep Time: 25 minutes
  • Cook Time: 85 minutes

I changed this around completely, but I think it ended up with a similar flavor and feeling of the original.  There were a few things I didn’t have, and my pan wasn’t in the apartment when I made these so I ended up making them in the slow cooker.  Here’s how I did it:

  • 4 peppers, any color (I used orange, red, and yellow)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes 14.5 ounces
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • ~1 lb home made beef crumbles (I used the Happy Herbivore recipe)
  • 1 and 1/2 cup brown rice

I really simplified this recipe, mostly because I’m trying to cut back on my use of garlic and onion and I didn’t have any celery in the apartment.  You can add these things if you decide to try out my recipe 🙂

IMG_2453

I started out by making my own beef crumbles and cooking up a bunch of rice.  You can never have enough rice made, am I right?  These beef crumbles are a recipe from the Happy Herbivore Cookbook.  They are made with no-beef broth and taste really amazing!  I never liked the flavor of real beef crumbles, but these are delicious.

While I was waiting for those things to cook I mixed the diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, and spices together.  Then I still had some time on the rice so I started to prep the peppers.

IMG_2457

Cut off the tops and scoop out the seeds.  Don’t these peppers look pretty? 🙂

After everything is ready you mix 1.5 cups of rice in with the fake beef crumbles and 1 cup of the tomato mixture from earlier.  Mix it all together and stuff the peppers making sure to pack the filling in!

IMG_2458

I put 2 cups of water in my 4 quart slow cooker and place the stuffed peppers inside.  Then I topped them off with the remaining tomato mixture.

IMG_2459

Then I cooked them on low for around 3.5 hours.  I didn’t really keep track, but I made sure they were fork tender before taking them out.  You have to be careful not to overcook them or they will fall apart!  🙂

IMG_2464

Here they are all done!  Look at how good they look.  They tasted great as well!  I had one for dinner on Monday night and it was great.  I’m not sure how similar in flavor they were to the non-vegan version, but they smelled just perfect!

Until next time!

broccoliweb

2 responses to “Turn Back Tuesday

Leave a Reply

