Lunch On The Go!

day19

It’s Day 19!!  Today’s prompt is asking us to talk about our lunches when we’re on the go.  I thought I’d talk a little bit about our Friday lunch tradition.

See every Friday the girls in what we call the “Front Office” order food.  I didn’t used to participate because it gets expensive and it’s usually from places where I know I won’t make healthy decisions, but for the past several weeks (maybe months!) now I have been participating.  I’ve been doing good with finding delicious Vegan foods at each of the places they pick.

We usually start talking about what we are going to have for lunch on Friday the Wednesday or Thursday before.  Some weeks are so bad we start talking about it on Monday!  You need something to look forward to, right?  For us that’s food!

This week it was a hard decision.  The girls knew what they wanted to get, but they were so worried that I wouldn’t be able to find something to eat.  The place is called “The Pizza King” and they are quite obsessed with it.  I’ve heard it has the best pizza in town.  There was a period of time when they ordered from there more than one time a week.  It was quite the obsession!  They haven’t had it in a long time though, and they were really looking forward to it.  I told them to pick a place and I would worry about finding something for myself to eat.  Worst case is that I just pulled the cheese off whatever pizza they were going to get.

Turns out that the Pizza King has listed a “vegan pizza” on the menu.  You can get a pizza with no cheese, special pizza sauce (extra seasonings?) and whatever vegetables you want.  I decided to give this a try and got a pizza with peppers, mushrooms, and eggplant.  Some people made fun of me, like they usually do, but honestly I think people were genuinely curious as to what a vegan pizza would be like.

IMG_2376

Well it turned out amazing!  It’s the best pizza I’ve ever had.  And without the cheese and grease it didn’t leave me feeling disgusting after I ate it.  I was so happy with how this turned out!  I still can’t get over that a local place could make such a good pizza, and vegan too!

IMG_2377

Look at those toppings!  They were cooked to perfection.  I ate this pizza for lunch on Friday, dinner on Friday, and again for dinner today.  So good!

Until next time!

broccoliweb

2 responses to “Lunch On The Go!

Leave a Reply

