Local Eats

day17

It is Vegan Month of Food day 17!  I can’t believe we are over halfway over already.  AND!  I have been posting every single day.  Goooo me 🙂  Today’s post is going to be short and sweet.  It’s Thursday, so that means it’s apartment cleaning night.  I ran around cleaning for the last few hours and now I’m a bit tired.  So no cooking for me.  I did however stop by a local restaurant called Zen and had a delicious vegan dish.

It’s called Tofu Teriyaki and it has delicious cubes of tofu fried up and covered in a teriyaki sauce with diced up veggies.  I think it’s my favorite dish of all the local restaurants!

IMG_2375

Look at how beautiful this dish is!  Today I was at Zen to catch up with an old college friend who was in town for a couple of days.  It was really great to see her and see how her life is going.  I’m glad that after all these years she still thinks of me and Andrea when she comes into town.  🙂

IMG_2374

And speaking of college, our prompt today made me think of a dish I veganized last year for MoFo.  I went to college at Binghamton University and Binghamton is known for Spiede’s.  For those who don’t know what this is, it’s basically a marinated chicken sandwich and it’s very popular in this area.

IMG_1925

I recreated this by replacing the chicken with tempeh!  The sauce I used is authentic Spiede sauce.  See how I re-created this dish here.

Does your area have a traditional food?  I’ve seen a lot of cool things posted by other MoFoers today.  There was an amazing deep dish pizza made in Chicago, a bratwurst made by vegan.in.berlin, tarts, poutine, and vegan fish tacos from California!  Really cool prompt and ideas by all 🙂

Until next time!

broccoliweb

4 responses to “Local Eats

Leave a Reply

