My Favorite Season

day16

Day 16 of Vegan Month of Food is asking us what our favorite late summer vegetable or fruit is.  The older I get, the more I love late summer.  I think I can go as far as to say it’s my favorite season of the year.  Late summer is the few weeks between mid-August and mid-September that are just awesome.  August usually is Otakon, and swimming in pools.  Moving into September we have Labor Day, my brother’s birthday, wine festivals, and the Renaissance Faire!!

The best part of this time of year?  Fresh summer sweet corn!!!

IMG_2194

I’ve been eating corn for weeks and I’m not sick of it yet.  Usually sweet corn is a treat my mom gets for us to eat together as a family in late August.  This year, it was my turn to buy the corn and bring it home to the family.  Every Wednesday a guy I work with (and a relative of mine!) drives out west to pick up samples.  While he’s out there he stops at this farm and picks up vegetables for everyone.  We started with corn, but now we’re asking him to pick up a little bit of everything!

IMG_2363

I love everything about late summer.  The warm weather during the day, the cool weather at night, the sunshine, the slow change over to fall… but this year the best part has been the sweet corn.  This farm has the best corn I’ve ever had!  Way better than the supermarket.  It’s great to buy local 🙂

Today in honor of sweet corn (and Wednesday!  I got more corn!) I decided to make the Piquant Summer Rice and Corn Salad from Vegan Holiday Kitchen.  I always forget to use this book throughout the year.  I only think to use it around Thanksgiving and Christmas, but there are so many more recipes in there!

IMG_2364

IMG_2367

I had to alter the recipe a little bit since I don’t have everything it calls for.  I used regular tomatoes instead of grape or cherry, and I didn’t have any olives or scallions so I left them out.  Oh I also left out the parsley.

IMG_2361

The recipe doesn’t call for the vegetables to be cooked before being added to the salad, but I had to cook the zucchini and squash and corn before adding it in.

IMG_2368

It doesn’t look really pretty all together.  It also tasted a little bland.  Probably because I didn’t have the parsley or olives, scallions… and the only things added for extra flavor was salt, pepper, lemon juice, and agave.  So to make up for it I threw in a whole bunch of Italian seasoning, but I did that after this picture was taken:

IMG_2370

After adding the Italian seasoning it was amazing!  I’m very happy with this dish and I’m excited that I decided to make this.  Now I’ll have a side dish to eat for the next few days 🙂

What is your favorite late summer vegetable or fruit?  Do you love corn as much as I do?  🙂 🙂 🙂

Until next time!

broccoliweb

2 responses to “My Favorite Season

Leave a Reply

