Sunday Family Cookout

day14

Day 14 of Vegan Month of Food!  Today’s prompt is to share something vegan with a non-vegan.  I do this ALL the time.  It’s part of what I love about cooking and baking:  sharing!  One of the things I share the most with people are my famous cupcakes.  I get all the best recipes from “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World”.  I started by bringing these cupcakes to share with my coworkers, but after a while my family started to request them for our family get togethers.  What surprised me the most is how much my grandparents love these cupcakes!

My grandparents are around 90 years old, and growing up they didn’t really fully understand vegetarianism.  I hated meat my whole life, but every holiday it always was “so you don’t eat ANY meat??”.  I never even bothered to explain to them what it meant to be vegan.  I don’t think they would understand that you could live without animal products.  They just came from a completely different time.  So I just tell them that my cupcakes are hand made with love.  That seems to work for them!  And since it’s made by me they are obviously the best cupcakes in the world.

I decided to make something a little different this time.  My go to recipes for occasions like this are the Chocolate cupcake recipe and the vegan buttercream recipe.  It’s an overall crowd pleaser, but I’m a little sick of making them.  So I decided to try something a little different.

IMG_2310

Big change!  Instead of chocolate I made vanilla!  May not seem like a big deal, but I almost never make vanilla cupcakes.  This is the first recipe in the book and I baked these following the oil version of the recipe.  I wasn’t really in the mood for making frosting, and kind of wished I had something premade to slap on these guys and just be done with it.  I guess I was in a bit of a bad mood yesterday.  I thought about making a chocolate genache, but ended up making this:

IMG_2309

I made a blueberry sauce using a recipe for Blueberry Cobbler Oatmeal from the meal plans.  It’s not a typical cupcake topping, but I’ve made this before and it’s delicious!

IMG_2313

IMG_2314

Let’s just say that they were a hit at our Sunday afternoon cookout!

And for our cookout yesterday, my father decided to make a dish.  He was very excited that he found a recipe for all the eggplant and various herbs he grew in his own garden.  Pretty cool, right?  My father doesn’t really cook either.  He’s been talking about cooking since he retired 6 years ago but he hasn’t really made anything.  He told me earlier in the week and informed me that he was going to cook something on Sunday.  Not sure if I believed him, but when I got to the house this was in the oven:

IMG_2317

Yup, that’s my dad putting his dish into the oven.  It was hard to believe, but here is the photographic proof it happened!

I took a quick picture of the recipe he was following.  To my surprise, it was completely vegan!

IMG_2315

My father is the kind of guy who thinks that a meal isn’t a meal unless it has some meat in it.  But to my surprise, he picked out something he knew I would eat.  And it was just as amazing as it sounds!

IMG_2323

Look at how proud he is of this dish!  It looked and tasted amazing!

IMG_2324

IMG_2326

Many of the things in this dish were from his garden.  He grew the white eggplant, the cherry tomatoes, and all the herbs in the garden.  Some of the peppers came from the garden too!

And for dessert we had my cupcakes.  This made my grandparents very happy!  I haven’t made cupcakes for them in a while, so this was a nice treat for them.

IMG_2333

It was supposed to rain and be cruddy all day, but the rain held off and we were able to eat outside and have a nice time.  So my day was about me sharing something vegan with my family, and my father sharing something vegan with me.  It was wonderful!

And because who doesn’t love puppies?!

IMG_2339

If you are participating in MoFo, who did you end up sharing a vegan dish with?  If you aren’t vegan, has anyone shared a vegan meal or dessert with you?

Until next time!

broccoliweb

4 responses to “Sunday Family Cookout

Leave a Reply

