Lives Up to the Hype- World Famous Pancakes, Gluten Free

day8

Today is MoFo day 8, and our prompt today is asking us to get out there and make new friends.  The person I have decided to write about today isn’t a new friend this year, but someone I met during last year’s MoFo.  I spent every free moment last year reading all the blogs on the blog roll, commenting, and meeting new people.  I had a blast and met some really interesting people.  Even though I met so many cool people and found a lot of new blogs, after MoFo was done I stopped checking the blogs and didn’t talk to the new friends I had made much.  I came back to MoFo this year and there was one person who I met last year that was still around and always commenting on my posts.

That person is Julie from My Apologies For The Novel, and I have decided to dedicate today’s post to her.  Julie is the kind of person I imagine I would be really close friends with if we knew each other in the real world.  We have a ton of things in common- her love of cats, vegan food, and tv shows like Parks and Recreation.  I especially love her Veganlist theme.  It’s food inspired by the tv show “The Blacklist”.  I haven’t seen the show before, but it’s my father’s favorite show and he tells me about what happened every single week.  I don’t know anything about the characters or the story, but I find the Veganlist posts on her blog to be so creative and entertaining.  I just love it!

So today in honor of Julie, I made a recipe from her Veganlist theme during last year’s MoFo:  Tom’s World Famous Pancakes, Gluten Free.

Screenshots1e18_1

Screenshots1e18_2

I spent hours going through Julie’s blog trying to find the perfect recipe to make today.  I finally made a decision early this morning when I saw that these pancakes were gluten free.  I’ve been dabbling in gluten free cooking a little bit here and there to see if it helps some of my continuing GI issues.  Plus, I love breakfast for dinner!  We call it Brinner!

29794807748033fd1c00eb67022e7795

I went to the store and picked up a bag of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free pancake mix.  I followed the recipe on back, but with Julie’s recommended changes:  banana instead of egg, and non-dairy milk instead of regular.  Julie used Soy milk, but I went with Almond.  It was very quick to throw together!  The batter seemed a bit dry, so I added a little bit extra almond milk.  The recipe calls for 3/4 a cup, but I probably added closer to a cup.  The batter didn’t seem as thin as I thought pancakes should be, but who am I to tell?  I make the worst pancakes.

1513770_10101342949605102_467475003754539841_n

I decided to try something different today with these pancakes.  I have a small wok type skillet that my father got me before I moved into my apartment.  He thought it would be good for cooking small meals for myself.  I use it for all sorts of things, but today was the first time I realized that it was the perfect size for pancakes.

IMG_2256

Look at that beauty!  Minus the blob on the side- this was my first attempt!  Way better than any other attempt I’ve made since I’ve moved out and don’t have non-stick pans anymore.  They cooked up very quickly and looked absolutely perfect.

IMG_2257

I put bananas on top of mine as well, just like Julie did in her post.

IMG_2263

They tasted just as good as they looked!  I couldn’t believe what amazing flavor the gluten free mix had.  I think I can say that I like them better than regular pancakes.  They were super filling too.  I couldn’t finish the third pancake on my plate!

IMG_2266

Now that I know I can make delicious pancakes on my own, I am definitely going to be making these all the time!

So in review, Tom’s World Famous Pancakes, Gluten Free definitely live up to the hype!  And a huge thank you to Julie for continuing to support me and my blog.  Thank you for being a friend!  I’m so glad I met you!  Keep up the awesome posts.  I’m looking forward to seeing what else you come up with this month 🙂

Until next time!

broccoliweb

6 responses to “Lives Up to the Hype- World Famous Pancakes, Gluten Free

  1. Aww, I was so excited when I saw the title of your blog post, I had to wait a minute to even click on it and then I just skimmed the post because I was still too excited and then finally I read it in its entirety & I’m such a happy dork right now haha. I’m honored you picked me for today’s post & I’m glad the pancakes turned out so well for you! Thanks for being an awesome friend! 😀

    • I’m so happy you enjoyed this post! I’ve had so much fun reading your blog over the last year and I just had to dedicate this post to you 🙂 Thanks for being an awesome friend too!

  2. it’s so fun making new friends through mofo. So far, every single time I’ve met a blogger friend in real life, it has been instantly wonderful. I think it’s a pretty safe bet that if you enjoy someone’s blog, you will definitely enjoy the person. It’s pretty amazing how much of who we are comes through with these little blogs of ours.

Leave a Reply

