The Dauntless Burger

day7

Day 7’s theme is one I was really REALLY excited about.  There are two things in this world I really love, and they are books and movies.  I especially like movies based on books.  So when I got the list of prompts for mofo this year I was pumped for this day and was excited to see what I would come up with.

For someone who loves books so much, you think I’d be able to figure out something for this prompt easily.  Well, I guess I was wrong.  This one was really tough for me, especially since I’ve been sick on the couch for days and didn’t have much energy to come up with something elaborate.

Every time I went through a list in my head of books and movies that mean something to me, I kept coming back to Divergent.  It is both a book and a movie!

divergentbook

Divergentmovie

When I heard there was going to be a movie made of this popular teen series, I decided I had to read it and then see the movie.  It’s something I love doing- I love to see others take on my favorite books and compare which was better.  Often times I like the book more than the movie, but that’s not always the case with teen novels!

With this series, I loved both the book and the movie.  I read through the book in less than 3 days.  I couldn’t put it down.  It sucked me in and kept me glued to my nook until it was done.  It was the same with the movie.  I went to see it at least 3 times in the theater and have watched it numerous times on Blu-Ray.  I can’t get enough of this story.

I really love the story of the lost teenager trying to figure out what they are supposed to do with their life.  I think that is something that EVERYONE can relate to, even if they are no longer teenagers themselves anymore.  It’s such a powerful story and such an important time in a persons life.  Divergent takes the question of “who am I?” and “where do I belong?” and narrows it down to 5 choices a teen must make when they come of age- or 5 factions that they can become a part of and live in for the rest of their lives. Talk about a heavy and difficult decision!

Abnegation2

dauntless

Our heroine, Tris, is torn between the faction she was born into (Abnegation) and the faction she is drawn to (Dauntless).  Tris ends up taking a risk and not choosing the safe choice, and the rest of the story progresses from there.  One scene in both the book and movie sticks out in my mind and of course it has to do with food.  Abnegation lives a very simple, selfless life.  Tris joins Dauntless and has a bit of a culture shock in the cafeteria of the Dauntless compound.

trishamburger

Christina:  Have you never seen a hamburger before?

Tris: No I’ve seen one, I’ve just never eaten one.

Will:  Abnegation eat plain food, plant-based style without sauces and minimal seasoning.

I created a meal today that was both Dauntless and Abnegation in style:

IMG_1212

It’s a Kale Veggie Burger with zucchini and squash cooked plainly with no seasoning 😉

IMG_1214

Have you read or seen the movie Divergent?  What faction would you be in?  I think I would probably be in Amity.  I’m too nice 😉

Until next time!

broccoliweb

2 responses to “The Dauntless Burger

Leave a Reply

