Restaurant Meal Recreations

day6

Today is Day 6 of Vegan Month of Food and the theme today is to recreate a restaurant meal.  I’ve had a meal in mind for at least a year now that I’ve been wanting to try, but just haven’t done it.  Well this prompt finally gives me a reason to do it!

I think I finally am past the worst of my sickness, but I was still feeling run down today.  I made it to the store to purchase the items I need to make the dish, but I didn’t have the energy to make it today.  I will be posting an extra post tomorrow though with how it turns out.  And no, I won’t say what it is until I actually make it!  I can give you a hint:

IMG_2245

Recreating restaurant meals is something I’ve been doing for a few years now.  I love to eat out, but often the food is not vegan, or it’s very high in fat.  I know because I always end up with a stomachache when I’m done eating- or worse!  So recreating meals to be healthier has been something that I’ve loved doing.

I thought that I would share some of these creations again with you since I won’t be doing much cooking today.

IMG_1808

This one has got to be, hands down, the most popular post on my blog.  This is a veganized version of Cheesecake Factories Ligurian Pesto Pasta made to be low fat.  It was absolutely delicious! The trick was to make the sauce with beans.  I changed up a recipe from Oh She Glows for the sauce- she has amazing sauce recipes.  See how I did it here.

LigurianVS

The next one comes from a vegan friendly restaurant in town where I work called Bomber’s Burrito Bar:

IMG_1654

These are the BBQ Tofu Tacos I recreated.  I love this restaurant because of how vegan friendly they are, but I can’t eat there all the time because of the high fat in the food.  I’m almost certain the tofu is fried.  So to make it healthier I baked my tofu using a  flavorful and no high fructose corn syrup BBQ sauce.  See how I made these here

BBQ_VS.

The next one is not exactly from a particular restaurant, but is a meal you can order in many restaurants in Binghamton, New York.

IMG_1923

It’s the Vegan Spiede!  This is a popular sandwich in Binghamton made out of chicken marinated in spiede sauce.  If you’ve never heard of it, spiede sauce is kind of like Italian dressing.  It’s a simple sandwich with lettuce, tomato, and maybe mayonaise.  I leave off the mayo, and made it with tempeh instead of chicken!  See how I did it here.

IMG_0155

While I don’t have a post specifically for this one, I didn’t want to not mention it.  This is vegan Massaman curry!  I first had massaman curry at a restaurant called Sushi Thai in Saratoga.  You can get it without meat, but I don’t think it was vegan.  We never wrote down exactly what we did for this recipe, and it comes out a little different every time we make it, but it’s still a favorite to this day.  I think this is one of the first things I veganized with my friend Andrea when I changed my diet.  It holds a dear place in my heart 🙂

Stay turned for my real restaurant meal recreation to be posted tomorrow!

2 responses to “Restaurant Meal Recreations

  1. Looking forward to your post tomorrow; it sounds promising based on the hint of the ingredients! Great idea to show previous re-created meals! 🙂

Leave a Reply

