Woman, Make Me a Sammich!!!

day5

Today’s prompt is for everyone to post about what they think the “best sandwich ever” is.  Since going vegan, I’ve eaten more different types of sandwiches than I ever did before.  Growing up, sandwiches were always full of meat and cheese.  Ham and cheese.  Grilled Cheese.  Italian.  Meatball.  Philly Cheese Steak.  Even sandwich platters at events and gatherings were always full of meat.  I could get a “vegetarian” sandwich which consisted of some cheese I didn’t like, lettuce, and tomato.  Yum…

I even did a short stint at a fast food joint called “Mr. Subb“.  I just did a quick internet search and found they are still in business.  The one I worked at has since closed.  I used to make meat filled after meat filled subs for jerks who treated me like I was beneath them.  Don’t forget to load up those potato nuggets with cheese!!!  I was disgusted.  I did not like sandwiches one bit.

mrsubb

I adopted the awesome name of “sammiches” from my guild mates in Guild Wars.  They used to make jokes about asking their women to make them sammiches.  They might sound misogynist, but to know them was to know they actually really respected their significant others.  They just did it in that guy sort of way.  And every day since meeting those wackos I refuse to call them sandwiches.  They are SAMMICHES.

egotrip

My guild from circa 2006:  Ego Trip from Rank [ZERO].  Those were some of my best times online gaming 🙂

Anyways, back to sammiches…

There has been one type of sammich that I have always loved, and have not gotten sick of in 30 years, and that is the classic PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY SANDWICH.  That is the sandwich that I have decided to honor today, because no matter how good you think all the other sandwiches are, this is hands down the BEST.  SANDWICH.  EVER.

IMG_2238

Today I decided to toast the bread before I made the sammich.  I also went old school with concord grape jelly.  I haven’t made a PB&J out of regular old grape jelly in years.  I love mixing it up and using all the different types of jelly you can get.  My favorites are strawberry and peach.  Yum!

IMG_0836

Or you can go totally wild and try these Thai version of a PB&J!  Peanut butter and basil, with orange marmalade mixed with curry seasoning.  Sounds gross?  I dare you to try it.  It’s amazing!

IMG_2235

Brunch!!

Coming in a close second for best sandwich ever was this little beauty I created using my waffle iron/sandwich maker.  Coming from Chloe’s Vegan Italian Kitchen, this is the Avocado and Sun-Dried Tomato Panini.  This was very simple to make, and oh so delicious!

IMG_0846

What do you think is the BEST.  SANDWICH.  EVER??  I’ve seen a lot of good ones today on Instagram.  I love all the pictures of sammiches chock full of veggies!  🙂

Until next time!

broccoliweb

Leave a Reply

