Vegan Velveeta Shells and Cheese

day2

Day Two, and today’s prompt was to re-create a childhood recipe.  I picked Velveeta Shells and Cheese.

See when I was a kid, I was a complete pain in the ass to feed.  I will admit it honestly.  My mom had such trouble feeding me.  I wouldn’t eat anything.  My list of foods I would eat was short:  pasta, macaroni and cheese, fish sticks, pancakes, beets, and meatloaf.  I didn’t really like any of the meat things, but it’s what I was fed so I ate it… kinda.  My mom’s favorite thing to do to get me and my brother to eat more was say “You can leave the table if you eat one more bite”  and then when we would, she would say “Now one more bite” and she would keep doing that until we complained.  I feel bad for her now.  We were terrible.

Since I didn’t eat much as a child, there wasn’t much I could re-create.  I went with Velveeta Shells and Cheese because that is one mac and cheese I hadn’t tried to re-create in the last 2+ years I’ve been eating a vegan diet.  I did a quick search online and found a recipe that had ingredients I had in the kitchen, and was also low fat.

I found this recipe on Oh She Glows!

Ingredients:

1 pound vegan pasta (or regular if you prefer!)
1 1/4 cups water
1 cup plain Almond Breeze (may use other non-dairy milk)
3/4 cup nutritional yeast
3 tablespoons cornstarch or potato starch
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon salt (or more to taste)
1/2 teaspoon garlic puree
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon turmeric (curry powder)
1 tablespoons tahini
black pepper to taste

I made some minor changes to this recipe when I made it.  I didn’t have any garlic puree, so I made it with garlic powder.  I also didn’t add black pepper.  That stuff is like death to my stomach.
IMG_2198
IMG_2203
I decided to cook this up with some broccoli because these days I want to make sure I get as many veggies as I can in my meals.
IMG_2201
The sauce turned out a beautiful bright orange.  It was thick and creamy.  It looked like the perfectly healthy substitute for Velveeta that I didn’t know I needed to try.
IMG_2204
I enjoyed this meal for lunch.  The texture was perfect.  The broccoli was a great addition to this recipe and I really did like it.
IMG_2205
There were a few things I definitely would change next time I make this, to fit my pallet more.  I would have added more garlic powder.  I only added 1/4 of a teaspoon (I halfed the recipe) and it wasn’t enough.  My friend Andrea tried this and thought that the tahnini might have been masking the flavor of the nutritional yeast.  She suggested adding more, but I was thinking that I would probably use miso instead of tahini.  I enjoy it in my cheeze sauces, but I think I prefer miso for my macaroni and cheese.
IMG_2210
Overall it was a great recipe and I’m glad I gave it a try.  The macaroni and cheese obsession continues!  Check out my other vegan mac and cheese posts:
broccoliweb
2 responses to “Vegan Velveeta Shells and Cheese

    • This is the second recipe I’ve tried it in. The other one is from “Vegan Yum Yum” and while not even remotely close to low fat, it does actually have a sharp cheesey flavor! Tahini does make it nice and creamy 🙂

Leave a Reply

