Second Breakfast

Day1

Today is the first day of September, which means it’s the first day of Vegan Month of Food!  Today’s theme is breakfast.  More specifically, the breakfast we ate today.

I start out every morning with a bowl of cereal.  I eat it right after I shower and before I get ready for work.  It’s a nice time for me to wake up at my own pace and mentally prepare myself for the day.  Or play video games, whatever I feel like doing that morning.

It’s usually a boring breakfast.  Dry cereal with no milk is my favorite way to eat it.  I sometimes splurge and let myself have two peices of toast with peanut butter.  I often go to brush my teeth and find the peanut butter all over my face!  Like a little kid!

I was eating a lot of Cheerios, but recently I switched to Rice and Corn Chex.  I find that it keeps me filled up longer in the morning, which is exactly what I need since mornings are busy and I don’t really have time to eat once I get to work.

IMG_1186

(I’ve finally learned how to use Instagram filters.  They make for some nice pictures!!)

Nothing in the morning can compare to SECOND BREAKFAST.

th

Second breakfast is the meal after I eat my cereal in the morning and before lunch.  It’s usually around 10:30-11:00 a.m. every morning.  Yes I eat like a hobbit.  People have teased me about it in the past, but second breakfast has turned into quite a thing.  When I’m at work I get everyone who is free together to sit in the breakroom around a nice pot of tea and we tell stories about anything that’s not work related.  Second breakfast is also called TEA TIME.

IMG_1189

Today’s second breakfast was a cup of English Breakfast tea (always black!) and Apple Pie Overnight Oats.  Before I tried out the vegan lifestyle I used to eat yogurt and a banana every day for second breakfast.  In the winter I would bring in packets of oatmeal.  I loved the fruit and cream oatmeal.  Once I went vegan I loved to have maple and brown sugar.  After a while though the packets of oatmeal started to get expensive.  That’s when I discovered I could make my own oatmeal.

IMG_2221

All of my oatmeal recipes come from Happy Herbivore’s Meal Mentor and various cookbooks.  Once the weather got hot I switched to overnight oats, which are amazingly easy to make without dirtying up a pot.  I’m in love!

Do you eat second breakfast?  If not, you should start.  It’s the best meal of the day!!

Until next time!

broccoliweb

4 responses to “Second Breakfast

Leave a Reply

