New Year, Same You

 2015

I used to hate New Year’s.  I got tired of hearing the phrase “NEW YEAR, NEW YOU!” while everyone under the sun tried to sell my fitness equipment and gym memberships.  If you were really serious about making changes in your life why would you wait until the new year to do it?

I felt this way until two years ago.  Suddenly the holidays became a time of reflection for me.  Two years ago I was sick of being sick and decided it was time to make a change.  That happened right before the 2013 New Year.  Now whenever the new year comes around I use it as a time to reflect and figure out what I want to accomplish in the coming year.

In 2013 I learned how to cook, lost weight, and got my sickness diagnosed and fixed.  In 2014 I rented my first apartment on my own, traveled to a different time zone, got a promotion, and put together a hand made costume for a geeky convention.  There have been a lot of ups and downs, but I’ve had a couple of pretty good years.  So this year my time of reflection didn’t bring me with any real goals for the upcoming year.

This year I don’t want there to be a new me.  I am enjoying myself for who I am right now and there isn’t anything I really want to change.  I’d like to continue to be awesome and enjoy my life for what I have.  My resolutions this year are for me to continue with what I’ve been doing.  This is going to be my year to keep on being me.  Because you know what?  For the first time in 30 years I can honestly say that I like myself.  I don’t want to change a thing.

This year I resolve to:

  • Get back to my healthy diet.  I slipped a little bit during the last few months but I’m ready to get back on track.  I joined Get Meal Plans from Happy Herbivore for guidance and help to keep growing better eating habits.
  • Blog at least once a week.  Since I started this blog over a year ago, I have written mostly about my vegan diet.  I write a bunch of posts, and then I disappear for a while.  Vegan MoFo this year was a ton of fun, but after a month straight of blogging every day I was almost entirely blogged out.  I think aiming for once a week is a good goal.  It’ll be easier now- I have a laptop!
  • Work on my fitness.  I’m not huge into the gym or fitness classes, but I think I should try to figure something out this year.  I’ve been working on my health through eating, and my mental health, but I haven’t spent a whole lot of time trying to get more fit.  I think I will work on that this year.

What are your New Year’s resolutions this year?  Have you started a New You journey, or are you continuing changes you’ve made in the past?  I’d love to hear all about it! 🙂

See you soon!

3 responses to “New Year, Same You

Leave a Reply

