Vegan MoFo 2014: Jill’s Favs!

 

850X315_r3_fb

Today is the last day of Vegan Month of Food 2014!  I had so much fun thinking of new topics for the blog and posting all month long!  It was quite a challenge!  For the last day I wanted to go through my favorite things this month.  I wasn’t able to keep up on checking out everyone’s blogs as I had hoped (thanks WORK!!!) but I did keep track of the things that stood out to me and I wanted to share them here.

At the beginning of this month I was super excited to stumble across Dumbledore’s Vegan Army.  I love Harry Potter, and I couldn’t believe I found this.  Harry Potter and vegan food?  Yes please!

dumbledoreveganarmy

This one is called Hagrid’s Rawk Cakes.  In the book these did not sound edible at all!  This blogger not only made them edible, but made them look SO GOOD!

bananacurl

Banana Curl Vegan Girl posted these amazing looking Chamomile Lavender cupcakes today.  They are too pretty!  I’m thinking about trying to make these myself.  Beautiful!

eattoinspire

Eat To Inspire has been posting fun things all month!  I fell in love with this recipe though, called Broken Heart Borscht.  This post was very inspiring!  It is hard to feel blue when you are looking at such a perfect borscht.

forksandbeans

Forks and Beans posted lots of fun Halloween themed treats all month long!  It was hard to pick just one to show here.  I love the creativity put into this dip to make it fun.  Cara called this Bride of Frankenstein Dip.  Simple, easy, fun, and perfect for Halloween!  Check out her other posts for other fun vegan treats just in time for Halloween this year!

myapologiesforthenovel

Julie, over at My Apologies for the Novel, has been one of my biggest supporters this month!  Each week she had a different theme on her blog.  The ones I remember following were Dollar Store Vegan, Health Store Vegan, and Food from The Blacklist.  I loved seeing all the things she came up with.  I’m partial to pasta, so I had to post this delicious looking stroganoff.  It’s called Janice’s Stroganoff and it’s from The Blacklist.  Nice job Julie!

parksrecswaffle

V for Vegan had the best theme, in my opinion, of the entire month:  Carbs and Recs!  I love the TV show Parks and Recreations.  Kelly G. posted veganized food from the show, with funny pictures and gifs from the show to go along with it.  I went crazy for waffles this month, and these were just one of the recipes I was drooling over.  She calls these Christmas in September Gingerbread Waffles with Butter Rum Sauce.  Um… I want these.  NOW!  Seriously, if you are a fan of the show check out her blog.  There is a recipe in there for a vegan MEAT TORNADO!

veganchaicheezish

Vegan Chai had the best Macaroni and Cheese Monday posts, and spent the whole month teasing the “best cheeze sauce” in the world.  Yesterday, FINALLY, she posted the recipe for Cheezish! from the Glad Cow Cookbook.  I haven’t had a chance yet to try this sauce, but it looks amazing in all the pictures!  Her blog had a different theme each day of the week.  I really enjoyed Mac and Cheese Mondays (obviously!) and Hometown Tuesdays.  All her posts were really fun to read!

daniellejoy

Danielle Joy posted a bunch of really fun green smoothies this month.  This recipe, called Virgin Pina Colada Green Smoothie, looked so good that I ran to my kitchen after reading it and threw all the ingredients in my blender and made it.  It was as good as it looked!  I’ve shared this smoothie with my friend Kelly and we’ve been drinking them all month long.

veganvelveetamac

Alex, over at Vegetarian Snob, created this Better Than Velveeta Silky Vegan Mac and Cheese Shells.  This recipe looks absolutely amazing and really does remind me of Velveeta shells and cheddar.  Really brings me back to my childhood.  Basically, everything on her blog looked really delicious this month!

bbbrownies1

Kelly at Vegga had an amazing theme this month:  “But where do you get your protein?  And iron, and calcium, and, and, and…”  This recipe for Fudgy Black Bean Brownies stood out to me because they don’t look like black bean brownies!  Look at how delicious and fudgy they look!!  I need to try these and soon 🙂

20140904-IMG_3288-Edit

Chels, over at Chelrabbit.com made this incredibly creative Miso-Tahini Cookies.  Maybe I’m old school, but I never would have thought to use either miso or tahini in my baked goods.  Those are savory flavors, so I never would have thought to put them in cookies!  Chels got me thinking differently about these ingredients, and these cookies have made my list of favorite things things month!

IMG_2614

Alicia at Conscientious Cookie made an inspiring post about not allowing yourself to get discouraged and to push yourself even if you really don’t want to do something, especially if it’s right and good for you.  Then she ended the post with these amazing looking stuffed sweet potatoes called Spicy Chickpea and Rice-Stuffed Sweet Potatoes.  Sweet potatoes + chickpeas + curry= one winning combination!

Pumpkin-Pie-Smoothie-Vegan-Gluten-Free-Allyson-Kramer-1000x1500

Allyson over at AllysonKramer.com posted this Fall themed Pumpkin Pie Smoothie.  Made with blackstrap molasses and all the right spices, it looks like a total delight!

This is only a fraction of the things that I loved about this month, but unfortunately I have run out of time.  There is only a few more hours left of this month, and I’m going to need to spend it working.  I did want to  end on a positive note though, and point out that this has been my best month of blogging ever.  I met a ton of great new people, found tons of new recipes, and really enjoyed myself this month.  I posted 25 out of 30 days this month.  I missed more than I would have liked, but it’s more than I’ve posted since I’ve created the blog.  And that my friends, is something to be proud of.

I hope that once this month is over I’ll still see everyone around and will continue to enjoy fun posts from everyone.  I plan to keep posting too.  Probably not every day, but as often as I can!  Now that MoFo is over, I can get back to posting about all the other things in life I enjoy as well.  I can’t wait to show you all pictures from Otakon!  I’ve been itching to get back to my video games as well.  Lightning still needs to save the world from the end of days!

This won’t be the last you’ve heard from me on my vegan cooking though.  I was recently challenged by my friend Gerardo to make a vegan Philly cheese steak, and that challenge was accepted!  So this isn’t goodbye, and I hope I still see all of you around once October rolls around.  There is still a lot happening in my life and I want to share it all with you!

I leave you on this last day of Vegan Month of Food with my meal for tonight.  It was simple.  Baked potatoes from my slow cooker, steam fresh corn, and peanut satay oven cooked tofu:

IMG_1942

See you soon 🙂

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “Vegan MoFo 2014: Jill’s Favs!

  1. Thank you so much for featuring my recipe in this post! I really appreciate it! Congrats on being done with vegan mofo, it’s such a great accomplishment!

    Look forward to seeing your future posts!

    Alex

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning me in your post, Jill. Congrats on completing Vegan Mofo in good spirits! And it is great news to hear you will continue blogging too. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

