Vegan Finger Foods

IMG_1926

It’s Vegan MoFo Day 28!  Only 2 more days to go!  I wanted to make sure that by the end of this month I reviewed Vegan Finger Foods, and I finally had time to make a few things today!  Earlier in the month I submitted my name to a giveaway for this book, and was shocked to get an email a day later that said I had won!  I had been eying this book in the bookstore for months, but couldn’t get myself to actually buy it.  I have a LOT of cookbooks, and couldn’t justify spending the money at the time (I was spending all my extra money on my costume for Otakon!).  It looked like a lot of fun, and I was excited that there would be a giveaway– and that the authors are HUGE fans of Vegan Month of Food.  Yay!

So now that I’ve had a chance to go through the book a few times and pick out a couple recipes I have all the ingredients for, what do I think?  Keep reading to find out!

IMG_1932

The first recipe that caught my eye was Spinach Swirls.  The night I picked the book up from my parents house (my mail still goes there) I had to work late, and I made a quick last minute decision to run over there and get this book.  I couldn’t wait another day to get it.  I flipped through it quickly while I was sitting in their family room, and this recipe made me stop and read.  I’ve been on a bit of a spinach kick and I know my mom really loves spinach, so I decided this would be the first recipe that I make.

I got up this morning and got to work on the dough.  I don’t have a kitchen aide or anything to mix the dough with, so I kneaded it myself for 10 minutes while I sat in front of the TV and re-watched the last season of Vampire Diaries.  (DAAAAMOOONNN!!)  Then it needed to sit for about an hour and a half to rise.

IMG_1927

The book was accurate, it took about an hour and a half to double in size.  After that, the dough was split in half, and then rolled out on a floured surface.  I don’t have a rolling pin, so I used an old wine bottle.  Because I’m classy like that!

While the dough was rising, I mixed together the spinach mixture that gets rolled up in the dough.  It gets spread out on the rolled out dough.  Then the dough was rolled up and cut into 1 inch pieces.

IMG_1933

IMG_1934

The rolls get baked in the oven at 375 for 22 minutes.

IMG_1935

And here they are all baked and slightly browned.

IMG_1936

They look so good!  I haven’t tried one yet, I’m waiting to try them with my mom!  🙂  The book says to eat them with marinara sauce, and even has a recipe at the beginning for a homemade sauce.  Perfect!

This next recipe I hadn’t picked out until last night.  After I got home from game night with my friends, I sat on my couch once again watching more Vampire Diaries, and flipped through this book to figure out what sweet recipe I wanted to try.  I was tempted to go for the mini cupcakes.  If you’ve been following my blog all month, you know I have a HUGE cupcake ego.  I like to try as many recipes as I can, so naturally I was looking for one to make.  There are a couple recipes for mini cupcakes in this book, but the only one I had ingredients for was the Rum Raisin cupcakes.  But then I stumbled across this recipe, and my idea of making cupcakes went right out the window:

IMG_1929

They are basically a home made version of peanut butter cups.  Yes please!  I had all the ingredients, so I decided I had to try this recipe.

First you make a brownie batter.  I usually don’t make full fat brownies, so it was interesting throwing all these ingredients together to make this batter.

IMG_1928

Lately my brownies are full of healthy low fat ingredients.  It was nice to change that up this time.  It was full fat and delicious!  I couldn’t help but eat up the leftover batter after I was done filling the mini cupcake pan.  Nom!!!

IMG_1930

Once filled, they were cooked for only 12 minutes.  Afterwards they are left out to cool, then once cool enough to handle they go in the fridge.  But right before they go in the fridge, I used a 1/2 teaspoon to make indents in the top of them.  That way the filling had somewhere to go.

IMG_1931

IMG_1937

The recipe calls for either peanut or almond butter.  I went with peanut to have a more authentic flavor to them.  This one I did try, and it was AMAZING!  Way better than the processed candy you can buy.  A million times better!

So what’s the final verdict?  This book has so many really fun recipes that I don’t have enough time to make them all!  The recipes are easy to follow and are all crowd pleasers.  Most of them are made with oil, so they aren’t low fat, but when you are making food for parties you are usually not worried about that sort of thing.  I’m thinking I just might find something in this book to serve my snobby “I won’t eat healthy at the holidays!” family for Christmas this year.  Score!

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves finger foods, or who needs good recipes for parties.  It’s an awesome book!

Only two more days left of Month of Food.  Two more posts.  I better make them good! 😉

Until next time!

180x180_r3

 

6 responses to “Vegan Finger Foods

Leave a Reply

