Veganized! Cheesecake Factory’s Ligurian Pesto Pasta

LigurianPestoPasta

VEGANIZED!  Cheesecake Factory’s Ligurian Pesto Pasta

It’s Vegan MoFo Day 22!  I didn’t have a new fun macaroni and cheese to share with everyone, so I thought I would post this instead.  I have not only veganized Cheesecake Factory’s new Ligurian Pesto Pasta, but I have also made it LOW FAT!

IMG_1787

This is the Ligurian Pesto Pasta as it came out onto the table.  As you can see there is asparagus and roasted tomatoes in there.  There is also a light dusting of bread crumbs over the top.

IMG_1788

Once it was all mixed:

IMG_1789

It was much creamier than I expected from a pesto sauce.  Coming in at 2210 calories a plate, I imagine that this dish is LOADED with heavy cream and oil.  I decided that this dish looked like something I could veganize, and also make low fat.  There is no way 2210 calories a plate is even remotely close to being healthy!  Yuck!

I had the idea for this pasta dish much earlier in the month, but it took me a bit to stop being lazy and finally get all the ingredients together.  It was actually a lot less complicated than I originally thought it would be.  All the ingredients fit in one basket at the supermarket!

I love pesto sauce, but let’s face it.  It’s made of mostly oil, and these days that isn’t going to fly for my digestive system.  Sure it’d be good today, but not so much tomorrow… so the first thing I did when I started to work on this recipe was find one that did not contain oil.  It was actually easier than I thought it would be!  Just type in “low fat vegan pesto” into google and you’ll find all sorts of recipes.  The one I zeroed in on was one that made the sauce using Navy beans.

IMG_1795

IMG_1796

I was also able to find the exact same pasta used by the Cheesecake Factory.  It’s called campanelle and it’s one of my favorite pasta shapes!

With all the ingredients together, it was time to prep.

IMG_1793

First thing was to get the veggies all cut up and in the oven to roast.  I roasted them at 400 degrees for some number of minutes.  I didn’t pay that much attention, I just watched them and took them out when I thought they were done.

IMG_1794

IMG_1799

While that was happening, I got the pasta going, and started assembling all the things together for the sauce.  You are going to need a food processor or blender for this one.

IMG_1797

I threw all the ingredients into the food processor and blended them together until smooth.  You are going to need to scrape down the sides a couple of times before it’s good.

IMG_1802

Mmm!  Look at that sauce!  I couldn’t wait for the pasta, I took a little taste of it and it was AMAZING (see recipe below)

IMG_1800

Once the veggies were cooked to my satisfaction and the pasta was ready, I dumped everything together.

IMG_1804

IMG_1803

And here it is!  My veganized low fat version of the Ligurian Pesto Pasta!

Recipe for the Amazingly Low Fat Pesto Sauce: (Adapted from Oh She Glows! High Protein & Oil Free Pesto)

  • 1 cup basil- pack it as full as you can!
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 15 oz can of Navy beans
  • 4-5 Tbsp of water
  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • Salt (to taste- I add very little)

IMG_1808

It was delicious and SUPER filling!  Protein packed, low fat, and full of veggies.  This pasta was great!

What do you think?

LigurianVS

My low fat version has a lot more flavor and I can bet it doesn’t even come close to 2210 calories.  Score!

Have you ever veganized a popular restaurant dish?  Would you like to see me try to veganize something?  Post about it in the comments below!

Until next time!

180x180_r3

 

 

6 responses to “Veganized! Cheesecake Factory’s Ligurian Pesto Pasta

  1. This looks fantastic. I’ve seen other low fat, no oil pestos that use vegetable broth but I like the idea of navy beans because it’s creamy and high in protein! Awesome job. The campanelle are so pretty!

    • Thank you!! I wanted to recreate the creaminess of this dish, and the idea of navy beans really intrigued me. It worked out perfectly! But I am interested in finding these vegetable broth recipes… that sounds good 🙂

  2. Pingback: Restaurant Meal Recreations | Evolution of Jill·

Leave a Reply

