Drown Your Sorrow Waffles

photo_4(1)

It’s Vegan MoFo Day 16!  Today I’m going to talk about a new waffle recipe I came up with.  But first, I’m going to talk about how these waffles came to be.

I haven’t written about this before, but if you know me, you might know that I have suffered from depression my entire life.  It’s different for everyone.  For some people it happens often, and for others it never happens at all.  For me, it happens more often than I’d ever want to admit.

Depression isn’t just a state of being sad.  Often times I don’t even know it’s happening.  Depression is more of a state of existing, but nothing more.  Things you loved no longer interest you.  Things happen around you and you don’t seem to care.  You are just here.  And really it’s no way to live.

It can be debilitating.  You find yourself not caring about yourself, your friends, your family… anything.  It’s difficult to get up every day and live your life feeling nothing.  It could consume you.

Over the years I’ve learned how to see the signs before it happens, and do anything and everything I can to prevent it from progressing.  When it does happen, it no longer lasts as long as it did when I was younger.  But this time.. I dunno.  It must have been sneaky.  Or I was too busy to notice it was happening…

I can’t say I’m depressed exactly.  I still enjoy cooking and doing this whole MoFo thing.  But I’ve been feeling so meh.  Not really myself exactly.  One of my friends suggested that maybe it was the changing seasons.  I assumed it was because I haven’t been 100% and my stomach has been bothering me.

Whatever it is, it left me feeling so meh that I ended up calling out of work yesterday.  The thought of going there and going through the motions of the day  was absolutely awful.  I decided to take a day to rest and try to get back to myself.

So that’s how I ended up making waffles.  I laid in bed for hours before I finally got up.  Might sound glorious to you, but it’s not something I usually do.  There are a lot of things that could be done with all that time!  Instead I just laid there… and let myself waste the time.  We need that every once in a while, right?  After a few hours, I finally picked up my phone and looked up some recipes online.  It was time to get up, face the day, and try out a new waffle recipe!

I call these the “Drown Your Sorrow” waffles because that’s exactly what I did with them.  I used them to try to feel better.  And you know what?  It worked 🙂

The waffles are a recipe I adapted from Eggless Cooking for vegan waffles.  First I made my blueberry sauce, just because I was worried it wouldn’t come out good…

IMG_1840

I call this “THE BLUES” BLUEBERRY SAUCE (Adapted from Happy Herbivore Cookbook):

Serves 1

  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 teaspoon raw sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 tbsp cornstarch mixed in 1/2 tbsp water
  • a few drops of vanilla

Start by adding the blueberries, water, and sugar to a pot and bring to a boil.  Then add the lemon juice, vanilla, and cornstarch mixture.  Stir to combine, and then let it cook until it thickens up.  You can refrigerate at this point, but I used the sauce right away on my waffle.

As for the waffles, I learned a new trick that I believe originated in Isa’s Vegan Brunch.  If you add cornmeal to your recipe (and reduce the flour by that much cornmeal) you will get amazingly crispy waffles.  It was perfect!

Here is my adaptation of the waffle recipe:

IMG_1843

Wet Ingredients-

  • 2 cups soymilk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar (or maple syrup)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

IMG_1842

Dry Ingredients-

  • 1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal (I only had yellow and it worked fine)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch

I’m not sure how many waffles this will make.  I think in my waffle maker it would have made 4, if I didn’t screw up the first one by over filling it:

photo_1

Oops!  But at least I was given hope when I flipped them over and the side looked perfect:

photo_2

In the end my waffle came out fantastic.  I used the entire batch of “The Blues” Blueberry sauce, topped my waffle, and showcased it for the world.

photo_3(1)

Because I love things really sweet, I ended up drizzling some syrup over the top once I was done taking pictures.  One bite and I knew I had a great recipe, one worth sharing with everyone!

1

It was consumed fairly quickly!  It did exactly what I was hoping though.  For a moment there, I felt more like myself.  It was a great feeling (and a delicious treat!).

How about you?  What do you do to kick the blues?

2

If you get a chance, try out my recipe and tell me what you think!

Until next time!

180x180_r3

 

 

6 responses to “Drown Your Sorrow Waffles

  1. I need to drown my sorrows this week, too, and what better way than with waffles. I feel “meh”, too, and maybe some of that is because I haven’t made anything fun in the kitchen for a few weeks now and the further I get from it the less likely I am to do it, so I need to just DO IT. Hope these waffles made you feel as good as they look 🙂

Leave a Reply

