Stir Fry Sunday

IMG_1711

Vegan MoFo Day 7!  I almost named this post “Psycho Sunday”.  I woke up this morning feeling tired and very lazy.  I wanted to make it a lazy Sunday and just play games all day and cook a little bit.  I allowed myself a cup of coffee today, after not having one for over a week, and I ended up psycho cleaning my apartment.

all-the-things

I’ve been spot cleaning my apartment, but I hadn’t given it the love and care it needed and it was getting to the point where I couldn’t stand it.  I spent several hours cleaning ALL THE THINGS!

I didn’t have anything really planned out for today.  I tossed around a lot of ideas (brunch, salads, more tacos) but decided on Stir Fry.  STIR FRY SUNDAY!

Stir fries were something my best friend Andrea and I started to make in college.  Along with tacos, we would have stir fry night.  Back then though, stir fries were a lot simpler than they are now:

mixed-veggie0004139002400_500X500

Cook the frozen mixed vegetables, top with Kikkoman’s Stir Fry Sauce, pour over rice and TADA!  You have a super cheap and easy college meal.  And looking back at it, it was also vegan!  I didn’t even know it back then.

These days stir fries are a lot more complicated, and a lot more tasty.  After many variations over the years, I think Andrea and I have finally perfected our stir fry and I’m going to share it with you here!

The Best Ever Stir No-Fry!

What you need:

  • Tofu (Firm or Extra Firm)
  • Vegetables
  • Stir Fry sauce

You are going to need an entire block of tofu.  For the vegetables, pick your favorites.  I like broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, carrots, green beans, onions, bok choy, water chestnuts, baby corn, and mushrooms.  I didn’t have everything for tonight’s meal.  The stir fry sauce that I prefer is:

szechuan-spicy1

I think this sauce makes the best stir fry.  It’s just a little spicy, and has a great flavor.  If you don’t like spicy, you can use any stir fry sauce that you would like.

First you need to press the tofu.  Wrap it up in paper towels or a regular towel, and put something heavy on it.

IMG_1705

I like to use my crock pot.  I’ve gotten it just right so that it never falls and it’s a good weight for pressing tofu.  You can use whatever you have handy to put on top of that tofu.  Let it press for around 15-20 minutes.

IMG_1711

While the tofu is pressing, get to work on cutting up your vegetables.  You can cook them a variety of ways, but to keep it low fat I would leave out the oil.  I love roasting vegetables in the oven, but I was hot after cleaning all day so I got my electric steamer set up to steam all my vegetables.

IMG_1713

Once the tofu was done pressing, I cut it up into bit size pieces and mixed it with the stir fry sauce.  I find baking tofu smothered in sauce makes it cook better than just baking alone.  It gives it a nice texture, in my opinion.

IMG_1715

I didn’t have any of my preferred stir fry sauce, so I used some of this:

IMG_1709

I baked the tofu at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.  The vegetables were done a few minutes before the tofu, so I put them into the pan to wait.

IMG_1718

When the tofu was done, I added it to the pan too and covered it with the rest of the sauce.

IMG_1723

I let it heat through over medium high heat, and then put it over rice.  You are welcome to eat it as is, or try it over greens.  Any way you eat it will be good!

So here it is.  My low fat Best Ever Stir No-Fry!

IMG_1725

That wraps up my very first week of Vegan MoFo 2014!!!  I loved spending time figuring out things to cook and write about.  I obsessed over other people’s blogs and finding new recipes.  I’m looking forward to the next few weeks.  I’ve written more this week on the blog than I have in a year.  It’s amazing!  I think tomorrow’s post should be fun.  Stay tuned!  We’ve got another 23 days to go!

Until next time!

180x180_r3

 

7 responses to “Stir Fry Sunday

  1. The stir fry looks great! Also, coffee is my biggest weakness. I make a whole pot in the morning and then just keep sipping all day long. Oi! I drink it black, so that’s a plus, right? Just this morning I tried mixing 1/2 Teecino with my regular coffee. I drank only Teecino when I was pregnant with my twins, but here we are 2.5 years later I’m addicted to the real deal again. Gotta figure out a plan to kick this stuff….but it’s just. so. good!

Leave a Reply

