My Father’s Bad Influence

IMG_1675

Vegan MoFo Day 6!

For Day 5 I was unable to cook anything new for the blog because I invited my father out to lunch.  Now for most people, lunch is meeting someone out for maybe an hour or so, you grab food, have good conversation, and then you go your separate ways.  Not for my father.  Nothing is just one single thing.  Lunch turns into an entire day out and about.  Why make just one stop, he says, when you can do everything you need all at once and not have to worry about it?

I was a bit worried at first, because I was exhausted from the busy week and not sure I was up for running all over town.  But then I remembered that shopping with my father is usually quite fun.  I always find something new on our trips out.  So I agreed to go with him on all these stops, as long as he took me to Whole Foods.

Whole_Foods_Market_logo.svg

Our Whole Foods store has been open for just under 3 months.  It’s the first one in New York state outside of New York City.  I was excited for it to come to Albany, but I decided to wait to go until the craze died down a little bit.  Two+ months felt like plenty of time.  Plus my father had actually been the week before, and he liked it.  I really wanted to go because I read on another bloggers site that Whole Foods had the new Earth Balance vegan macaroni and cheese and I wanted to see if our store had it in stock.

I was amazed at the prices of some things, but I loved that this store had all my vegan things in one spot!  I won’t need to go to 3 different grocery stores to get the things that I am looking for now.  It’s also conveniently located in our mall.  Score!

IMG_1670

I was in luck!  They had both types of Earth Balance macaroni and cheese, plus the Road’s End Organics kind too.  I have a bit of a macaroni and cheese obsession that I plan to write about another time.  I can’t wait to try these out!

With my macaroni and cheese obtained and a smile on my face, I went willingly to every store my father wanted to go.

And this is why I call him a bad influence: We were at Aldi’s for one of our stops and they had a bunch of kitchen appliances on sale.  He asked me if there was anything I needed to get, and I saw this waffle maker.  I don’t need one, but I’ve wanted one for a while and nobody has ever gotten me one.  I mention that I want one, but don’t want to spend the money right now.  He takes one anyways, puts it in the cart, and says that I should just get it.  It’s a good price and I won’t find another one that cheap.

Okay, fine.  Just fuel my inability to control my spending.  Thanks Dad!

IMG_1665

No really, thanks Dad!  I can now make waffles in the comfort of my own home, whenever I want, as often as I want them!  Excellent!!!  I do LOVE waffles.

I couldn’t even wait a day to start using this little appliance.  I pulled out the only cookbook I have that contains a recipe for waffles:  Happy Herbivore Abroad (pictured up top).  This morning for breakfast, I got to work on making myself something low fat and delicious!

IMG_1678

The recipe I used is called “Courtney’s Waffles”, a recipe from the sister of the Happy Herbivore.  It’s just a few simple ingredients mixed together.  I left out the nutmeg because I absolutely hate it and think that it ruins whatever it’s put in to.

IMG_1681

This was my first time with this recipe and waffle maker, so I wasn’t sure how much batter to add for each waffle.  I messed up the first one (oops!) and had to start over.  My waffle maker must be deeper than the one used to make the recipe because I used double what was said was needed.  Also this waffle maker doesn’t tell you when the waffle is done, so you have to keep an eye on it.

But once it’s done:

IMG_1682

It’s a waffle!

I love to add strawberries to my waffles, but I didn’t have any here.  I did have plenty of bananas though…

IMG_1695

IMG_1698

I topped them with syrup (and no margarine!).  They were delicious!  Now I’m going to need to find more waffle recipes!!!

What is your favorite type of waffle?  Do you know a good recipe you could share with me?

Until next time!

180x180_r3

6 responses to “My Father’s Bad Influence

  1. What! Your dad sounds really awesome! Whole Foods is crazy expensive, but their selection does make things easier. In the few moments that I do give into its siren song I’m both giddy about the food and scared of the price. What can ya do?

Leave a Reply

