BBQ Tofu Tacos

IMG_1616

For Vegan MoFo Day 4 I decided to write about TACOS.

Taco night became a thing back when I was in college and met my best friend, Andrea.  She too was a vegetarian, and loved that I also ate the same way that she did.  We would make refried bean tacos topped with lettuce, tomato, olives, cheese, and if you are Andrea, sour cream!  Once I was done with college I brought taco night home to my family, where we would have them almost once a week.  My family is all meat eaters, but there was always refried beans for me to eat.

So it probably comes as no surprise to you at all that when I went Vegan, one of the things I loved to eat was tacos.  All I had to do was leave off the cheese, and it was vegan!  As time went on though, I discovered that as a vegan (or even vegetarian!) I was not limited to just refried beans for my tacos.  You could use tofu, quinoa, chickpeas, lentils, and TVP as your taco “meat”!  I couldn’t believe what I was missing out on all these years.

The first place I went to that ever served more than just refried beans for vegetarian/vegans was this place:

bombers-logo

bombers

Bomber’s Burrito Bar is a local restaurant with three locations here in the Albany, NY area.  They sell burritos, tacos, quesadillas, appetizers, fries, wraps, and salads.  They are obviously known for their burritos, but I find them too large to eat so I end up always getting tacos when I go there.

bomberstaco

More specifically, I get the BBQ Tofu tacos.

I never in a million years would have considered putting BBQ sauce on my tofu, and then putting that into a taco shell.  Once I had it though, I was completely obsessed with it!

IMG_1619

Look at how delicious that is!  All that delicious BBQ tofu goodness.  It’s not shown here, but I often dump some salsa on top to add to the flavor.  BBQ sauce and salsa is a great combination!

My problem with this, as you might have guessed from other posts, is that this meal can be a lot of fat.  I suspect that the tofu is fried, because it has that fried consistency to it.  I also more often than not will make the mistake of getting fries with this meal as a side (they have the best seasoned fries I’ve ever tasted!) and the combination is enough to send me straight to hell the next morning.  That, on top of the price of eating out, is why I decided to make my own lower fat version of this meal at home.

And here it is (we’re finally to the good stuff!):

To make the tofu with less fat, you are going to need to bake it.  I preheated my oven to 400 degrees.  I used firm tofu for this, but extra firm works well too (not Mori-Nu!!).  You need to drain it, wrap it in cloth or paper towels, and then put something heavy on it.  For the firm tofu I pressed it for 25 minutes.  I don’t press it as long for extra firm.

IMG_1661

Once the tofu is ready, you cut it into bite size pieces, mix it with your favorite BBQ sauce, and then bake for around 30 minutes.  If you like your tofu chewier, you can bake it for longer.  The BBQ sauce I’ve been using lately is the Brown Sugar Bourbon flavor.  I’ve bought Grill Mates and this time I tried Open Pit.  I don’t like my BBQ sauce to taste like ketchup.  This has a great flavor that’s a bit sweet but sooo delicious!

Once the tofu is done baking, I cook the taco shells for a few minutes in the oven and take them out just as they turn brown.  Now it’s time to fill them!

IMG_1643

We were missing one of our usual fixings (olives!) but everything else was there.

Here they are all assembled:

IMG_1648

IMG_1650

IMG_1654

So that’s it: my healthier, lower fat version of Bomber’s BBQ Tofu Tacos!

What do you think?

BBQ_VS

I think they both look good!  🙂  I love Bomber’s, and wish I could eat their food all the time.  With my recipe, I now can!

How about you?  What’s your favorite kind of taco?

180x180_r3

 

6 responses to “BBQ Tofu Tacos

  1. These tacos look absolutely fantastic! So great that you’ve got accessible vegan food near you! I’ve got a friend from Albany, so I’ll have to quiz her on this place – it sounds fab! I look forward to seeing more of your Vegan MoFo posts 🙂

  2. Pingback: Been Too Busy :( | Evolution of Jill·

  3. Pingback: Restaurant Meal Recreations | Evolution of Jill·

Leave a Reply

