Cooking through Light and Lean (& Giveaway!)

IMG_0221

Back in October, I was lucky enough to be chosen to host a pre-release blog post for Lindsay Nixon’s latest book:  Happy Herbivore Light and Lean.  Well the book is finally on sale in stores, and I was able to get my hands on a copy a few days before the official release.  I have spent the last almost two weeks reading through the book and trying out the recipes.

If you follow me on Twitter or Facebook then you know I have been quite obsessed with this book.  I carry it around with me everywhere I go and cook from it as often as I can.  I am excited to review this book.  This is, hands down, Lindsay’s best cook book yet!

As soon as you open it up, the book invites you in with it’s beautiful pictures and large colorful fonts. It’s set up in an easy to read layout, with the recipe title in bold color, followed by the explanation and on the side the ingredients list in a colored box.  Each recipe is also accompanied by nutritional information.

This book focuses on “caloric density”, or more food for less calories.  No single recipe in the book is over 300 calories.  The idea behind this is more food, with more nutritional value, for the least amount of calories.  This is the same idea used for Linday’s 7 day meal plans (getmealplans.com) and since it was such a success she decided to make it the main focus of the latest book.

Personally, I love the way this book is laid out and the new categories of recipes that are included.  The typical sections are all here from previous cookbooks- breakfast, muffins and breads, sandwiches, burgers, wraps, soups, salads, pasta, sides, and desserts.  I really am enjoying the newly added sections of drinks and dips, snacks, and appetizers.  Drinks were a new addition to the Happy Herbivore Abroad cook book, and the appetizers section is new to this book.

Lindsay continues her tradition of quick, easy, nutritious, and delicious recipes.  Almost everything in the book can be made in as little as 30 minutes or less, and all the ingredients are easy to find in a typical supermarket.  Now there is no excuse for not eating healthy!

Towards the end of the book there is a “Lean” section, which contains “recipes” for your body.  Accompanied by full color pictures are exercises that you can do in the comfort of your own home.  They are fairly easy to do, and can be done whenever you have some free time.  I enjoyed this section of the book as well.  I like the “whole body” approach to health.  Eating right is only one part of healthy living.  It is a HUGE part, but there is more to it than that.  I love that this book adds exercise to the mix as well!

After cooking vegan for almost a year, this cook book is exactly what I needed.  It has new spins on old recipes, healthier versions of old favorites, interesting flavor combinations (cranberries and chocolate, pineapples in chili!), a new mac and cheese recipe (score for me!), fun appetizers for holiday gatherings (cheeseball! deviled “eggs”!), and low calorie drink recipes.  This book has a recipe for any occasion.  I’m glad I was able to add this awesome book to my collection, and look forward to making many more recipes from it.

As a part of my 30 before 30 challenge, I decided I would cook 100 new recipes.  Since this book is so amazing, I have decided to incorporate it into my challenge by cooking through the book.  I’ll hit my goal of 100 recipes real quick this way!

Here is what I’ve made so far:

IMG_1178

These are the famous Blueberry Yogurt Muffins that I posted about in the pre-release blog.  You can find the recipe on that post, or on page 48 of Light and Lean.

IMG_1193

Meatloaf Bites on page 79.  The sauce on top is my absolute favorite from Happy Herbivore Abroad: Curry Ketchup (page 191).  These Meatloaf Bites were featured on Lindsay’s new cooking show a few weeks ago.  Go to this youtube page to watch the video.

IMG_1195

Ruby Chocolate Muffins!  (Page 41)  The rubies are cranberries in this recipe.  These were a hit at my work!  You can see these made on the cooking show here.

IMG_1197

AJ’s Vegan Parmesan (page 271).  I made mine out of cashews and nutritional yeast.  It was used in:

IMG_1199

Cream sauce on page 157.  The sauce looked a lot more yellow when I made it, but it’s a creamy sauce made out of beans and nutritional yeast.  You use it the same way you would an alfredo sauce.  Here I roasted broccoli and tossed it with the sauce, pasta, and a bit of fresh black pepper.

IMG_1203

Butternut soup (page 106).  I finally got over my fear of cutting and cooking the butternut squash so I could make this soup!  I had a few of my wisdom teeth out the other day, so this was something filling and delicious to eat while my jaw is too sore to really chew anything.  Curry powder is the secret ingredient for the awesome flavor!

I hope you enjoyed my review of this book and the pictures of the few recipes I have had a chance to make so far.  I plan on making many many more in the near future!  And now it’s time for…

THE GIVEAWAY!

Linday’s publisher (also named Lindsay of BenBella Books) was gracious enough to offer to host a giveaway through my blog.  I am so excited for this opportunity.  One of you will be the new owner of Happy Herbivore: Light and Lean!

The rules are simple:  You must be 18 years or older to participate, and you must live in the U.S. or Canada.

How to enter: Subscribe to my blog if you haven’t already.  Make sure to subscribe using your email address.  This is important- it’s how I will contact you if you win.  Then post a comment here on this post.  In the comment tell me exactly why you want to win this cook book.  Is it to try out veganism?  Want to incorporate more meals into your diet that don’t have animal products in them?  Already a vegan and looking for a change?  Let me know!

The contest will end on 12/17 at midnight.  At that time I will choose a winner randomly from those that have entered and will contact the winner on 12/18.  If the winner does not respond within 48 hours I will choose another winner.

Good luck!  I can’t wait to see your responses 🙂 And keep checking back here to see my progress with the Light and Lean challenge!

5 responses to “Cooking through Light and Lean (& Giveaway!)

  1. Jillian every time you bring in something absolutely delicious and I ask you “where did you get this recipe?!?!” your response nine times out of ten is “The Happy Herbivore!” I would love to win a copy!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: ALL THE COOKBOOKS!!!11! | Evolution of Jill·

Leave a Reply

