Quick Taco Burgers

IMG_1071

Out of everyone I know, my mom has been the most weary of my switch to veganism.  She’ll often look over my shoulder as I’m cooking and demand to know what it is I’m making.  “That’s weeeeird…” is usually how she’ll comment.

So you can imagine how shocked I was the day I was making Happy Herbivore Quick Burgers and she actually gave me a really cool idea.  She said “Why don’t you try making those with salsa and taco seasoning?”

Awesome idea mom!  Last night I finally gave these “Quick Taco Burgers” a try.

First I mashed up the beans with a potato masher and mixed in 3 tablespoons of Ortega mild salsa.

IMG_1069

Then I added some cumin and cayenne powder, mixed it all up and added 1/3 of a cup of instant oats.  Then I split the mixture up into 4 parts, rolled them into balls, and flattened them with my hands.

IMG_1072

IMG_1073

I baked these guys at 400 degrees for 7 minutes, then gently flipped them over and baked for another 7 minutes.  Don’t overcook them or they will fall apart!

IMG_1077

IMG_1079

I ate them with my favorite side:  baked french fries and curry ketchup!  Yum!

Recipe:

  • 1 can black beans- drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp taco sauce or salsa
  • cumin- to taste
  • cayenne pepper- to taste
  • 1/3 cup instant oats

I hope you enjoyed my variation of Quick Burgers!  They were really fun to make 🙂

One response to “Quick Taco Burgers

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Evolution of Jill·

Leave a Reply

