30 Things to Do Before I Turn 30

30before30

This post has been the most difficult for the to write so far.  I don’t know what I’m afraid of.  It’s important to me to share this list with everyone because it’s everyone that helped me come up with the list.  I want my friends and family and anyone else to be involved.  I picked all of these things because I believe they will lead to interesting life experiences.  Experiences I hope to share with everyone.

So without further ado, here is the 30 before 30 list with explanation:

1.  Move out of my parents house

Yes, I am 29 still living at home.  Some call it pathetic, others call it smart.  I just call it home.  My family is important to me.  As I’ve gotten older the relationship with my parents and brother has evolved so that living at home doesn’t make me feel like a child.  I jokingly call them my roommates.  I buy my own groceries, do my own laundry, and pay my own bills.  Being out on my own has been something scary for me.  Not because I can’t handle being alone.  I’ve just never found quite a support system out in the real world like I have with my family.  It’s nice to come home and have someone to talk to about my day.  Even so, I am 29 now and it’s time to move on.  I’m happy that I did have this chance to stay at home and appreciate my parents for allowing me to do so.

2.  Get a passport (and use it?!)

Even since I was a child I thought that passports were the coolest thing ever.  I think it was a symbol of freedom and exploration.  With that little book you could go anywhere.  And each time you did, a little stamp would be the proof of where you’ve been.  I’ve always wanted one, and I don’t know what’s stopped me from doing so.  Laziness I suppose.  This year I will get one.  I’m not sure if I’ll use it, but I will definitely have one in my possession before I turn 30.

3.  Reconnect with old friends

When I left home for college I left a lot of really great friends.  Some of us tried to stay in touch but over time we ended up parting ways.  I miss each and every one of my childhood friends so much.  Everyone is busy, or moved away, or just at different points in their life now.  I still hope that a few old friends will have time to spend with me this year.

4.  Go to Vegas

The only places I’ve ever been have been on the east coast.  Vegas just seems like something you should do while you are young.  That’s how it got onto my list.  Glad it did too, because I got invited to go to Vegas with one of my friend Jaime in January!  Plan tickets are already booked 🙂

5.  Visit Harry Potter World

I realize I’m not a little kid anymore, but eventually I’ll be too old to go there without children.  I will be going this year with Kelly!

6.  Try 30 beers

I was told by a few people that beer was an acquired taste that they developed in college.  Well I didn’t really go out and party and I never tried many beers because I’ve always hated it.  Now I’m curious.  There has got to be a beer out there that I will enjoy!

7.  Travel alone to a new place

I had a few people tell me that I need to just go somewhere by myself.  Somewhere I’ve never been.  I’ve traveled alone a lot of times, but I’ve always gone somewhere I know someone.  I don’t know where I’ll go yet, and I’m open to suggestions!

8.  Write a book (or get one started)

I’ve dreamed of writing books since I was a kid.  This time I’ve got a great story idea, and it’s time to get it down on paper.  I don’t think I’ll finish an entire book in a year, but I’d like to have a good start on one.  (Here’s the idea:  It’s a fantasy story set in a world with magic.  The main character lost everything and is seeking vengeance until she realizes that she’s destined for something greater…)

9.  Try boiled peanuts

I polled my friends and family to help me come up with 30 things to do before I turn 30.  I took all sorts of ideas.  My best friend from college, Andrea, picked this one.  It’s certainly something to experience!

10.  Relearn how to ski

I have been skiing a total of 1 time in my life.  I was a bit of a disaster.  So much that I’ve never been back again.  I added this to my list because even though I was a disaster I did have a lot of fun.  I also hope that this will lead to spending a day with my friend Jenn who loves skiing more than anything else in the world.

11.  Try 30 100 new recipes

I changed this from 30 to 100.  I make new recipes all the time.  I think that 30 would be no problem at all and wanted more of a challenge.  In the next year I will try 100 new recipes and share them with everyone.

12.  Wear a handmade costume to Otakon 2014

I went to Otakon this year and it was such an awesome experience.  I’m not too crafty, so I bought a costume online and wore that around.  It was so much fun to pretend to be someone else for a few days.  This year I want to work with my friend Andrea and actually wear a hand made costume to Otakon.

13.  Buy an outfit without looking at the price

I have never bought anything without obsessing over the price.  I want to be irresponsible just once.

14.  Host a dinner party

Now that I am cooking all the time, I have found that I like to share what I make.  Hosting a dinner party seems like something fun to do, so it made it on this list.  The hope is that I do it in my new place!

15.  Go out in Saratoga and stay out all night

I did this when I was younger and thought it was so fun.  I don’t find going out to be as much fun anymore, but I want to do this while some of my friends are still able to. One last crazy night out while I’m still “young” should be quite the experience 😉

16.  Get a pink streak in my hair (peekaboo highlights?)

If you follow the Vampire Diaries, you know that Nina Dobrev’s character Elena got a pink streak in her hair.  I became obsessed with that look and really wanted it for myself.  I talked myself out of it when I was in the hair salon and a 7 year old was getting pink streaks in her hair.  I told myself it was something that only children do.  I’m convinced that I’m too old for something like that, and it would be irresponsible as a supervisor to have weird colors in my hair.  Since then I’ve seen a bunch of people older than me do something like this, and I don’t care about what other people will think of it.  I’m going to do this!

17.  Learn to make wine

For the last few years my friend Josh has been really into making his own wine.  He has some strange ideas, but they’ve definitely always been interesting.  I decided that this year I want to learn how to make wine from him.

18.  Try 30 new wines

I love wine.  I want to experience even more of it this year.

19.  Go on a Lake George boat cruise with my friends in the summer

A few years ago I was able to get a bunch of my work friends together to go on a boat cruise after work.  We all have different schedules now, and it’s more difficult to get together and do things like this.  I’m going to make sure it happens this summer.

20.  Start a new tradition

Over the last few years certain events in life have changed my families traditions.  People have passed away, gotten married, work on the holidays and now the old traditions of my childhood are completely gone.  I am sad about this, but instead of dwelling on it, I have decided that it’s time to create new traditions.

21.  Meet new people

For me this means I need to get out and be more social.  As my friends get older and their lives get busier, they have less and less time for me.  Which is completely fine.  I just need to meet new people who are living life the way I am 🙂

22.  Learn basic sign language

I wanted to learn something new this year.  I won’t have time for classes with my work schedule, and this is something I can learn here and there in my free time.  Since I was a kid I thought that learning sign language was cool.  I just hope to learn a few things that I’ll remember.

23.  Bomber’s margarita on my birthday

Ever since Bomber’s moved to Schenectady, I’ve wanted to get the giant margarita on my birthday.  But the last few years my birthday has been on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday… basically I have had to work the next day.  This year my birthday was on a Wednesday, and I could take the Thursday off for a 3 day weekend.  It was the only time I was glad I work on Sunday!

24.  Be the best aunt ever

A lot of my friends have had kids this last year or so.  I am happy to be involved in their lives, and want to continue to be.  I’m going to be the cool aunt!

25.  Take 30 shots

I never partied when I was in college.  I didn’t take shots until I was 23.  Lame?  Maybe.  Now I’ve got to make up for what I didn’t do when I was younger!

26.  Go on 10 dates

I haven’t had much luck in the dating department.  Most of my dates have been absolutely horrible.  So bad that I’ve almost given up.  I was told to add this to the list so that I am forced to keep trying.  Yay.  Can’t wait for more horrible times…

27.  Get in (better) shape

I’m never going to be one of those people that looks like they work out.  I actually hate the gym and normal workouts.  Even so, exercise is important and I want to make it a part of my routine.  I’m not getting any younger!

28.  Play hooky and do something fun

I have never played hooky.  I want to do it just once.

29.  Get a tattoo

Let me start this one off by saying that I absolutely HATE tattoos.  I think it’s ridiculous to mark up your body that way.  I am still really up in the air about this one, and might change it out for something else.  I do think it would be something interesting to experience, but I’m not really sure about doing something permanent to my body…

30.  Forgive myself for leading a life different from others

I was never the type of person to have a plan.  I wasn’t one of those girls with dreams of a wedding or ideas that I had to have kids by a certain age.  I still could care less about getting married or having kids.  Even so, I can’t help but feeling so… left behind.  Most people I know have found someone, bought a home, and started a family.  I’m still living at home and playing video games.  I’m so scared of losing everyone because suddenly their lives are so full and busy and I’m just their sad friend with nothing.  I guess I need to get over that and forgive myself for being different.  There’s nothing wrong with my life.  It’s just not what society and the world says it should be.  And why should I care?

So there it is.  The entire 30 before 30 list.  I’ve got a lot of work to do!

2 responses to “30 Things to Do Before I Turn 30

Leave a Reply

