Fall Food Festival

IMG_1022

Every so often we have a food themed day at work.  Today was the first one we’ve had in a while.  The theme was FALL and this was the first time I’ve participated where I actually made food to share with everyone.  It was a ton of fun!  A real moral booster, that’s for sure!

When discussing what everyone was going to make, I heard a lot of people mention they were thinking about pumpkin.  I recently went apple picking and had a lot of apples left over from that, so I decided to look for apple recipes.  I tossed around a few ideas, from cupcakes to muffins… but eventually ended up deciding on a soup recipe I’ve never made.  Everyone was planning on making sweet things, I knew I needed something savory to balance out the mix!

I found this slow cooker recipe for “Split Pea and Apple Soup” in this book that I absolutely love:

IMG_1033

I haven’t made a single thing from this book that wasn’t good, so I knew I had a winner when I picked out this recipe.  I started working on the soup Saturday night, let it cook over night, and stuck it in the fridge before work on Sunday.  Came home Sunday night and blended it all up!

IMG_1016

Here’s the soup before it was blended.

I also made a batch of Happy Herbivore Apple Biscuits to go with the soup.  This was a last minute addition I discovered on the internet just Sunday night.  This three ingredient recipe was super easy and worked well with the soup!  I was very happy with how they came out.

IMG_1019

I couldn’t get over how much food was in our break room when I got to work.  So many people participated in this event!

IMG_1027

There were two different stews, my soup and biscuits, several types of cookies (peanut butter, sugar…), pumpkin bread and pumpkin muffins, grave dirt cups, hummus and vegetables, cupcakes, cinnamon buns, apple pancakes, punch, apple and cranberry crisp and so much more!

IMG_1020

IMG_1028

IMG_1029

IMG_1031

I was excited that this event had a few things that were vegan.  One of those things was a modification to the Happy Herbivore Pancake recipe to include apples.  I’m not 100% sure how this was done, but they certainly were delicious!

IMG_1026

Overall I’d say the day was a great success!  I was happy I participated and I think my soup was a hit: my crockpot was empty at the end of the day.  Thanks to everyone who participated!  I wasn’t able to try everything, but everything that I did try was great.

I’m looking forward to the next food themed day!  Hopefully we won’t go too long before the next one.

Does your work have food themed days?  If it doesn’t, you should really consider it!  It’s nice to change up the normal routine once in a while.  🙂

One response to “Fall Food Festival

Leave a Reply

