Six Months Later…

mieshka_so-long-gallbladder

Wow.  It’s been a while.  After I got back from Otakon, things in my life got crazy.  Fall is always really busy in my personal and work life.  I feel bad for neglecting this blog and not writing in 2 months!

Today is the sixth month anniversary of my surgery.  Six months ago today I had my gallbladder removed.  After a year and a half of pain and suffering I finally had my answer as to why I was hurting and a solution to the problem.  At that point in my life I had never had surgery before.  I was so scared, but at the same time relieved that I would finally be done with this all.

As soon as I came out of recovery I felt that the pain from my gallbladder was completely gone.  That could have been the pain medication, but as the days went by and I finally stopped needing medication I realized that the pain really was gone.  After a few weeks of recovering from the surgery I felt great and back to the way I was before all of this had happened.

Two months after surgery I went back to my GI doctor and found out that I had lost a total of 18 lbs since the start of the new year.  I was looking and feeling great!

Unfortunately, even though I was feeling better, life hasn’t been perfect since the surgery.  Before my appointment with the GI doctor I was noticing that I was still having slight acid reflux here and there.  It was nothing like before where the pain was constant, so I didn’t complain about it but briefly mentioned it to my doctor.  She explained to me that it takes time to heal and I might not feel all that right up to six months after surgery.

Since that appointment I have continued to have bouts of acid reflux, depending on what I eat.  Every so often I feel twangs of pain coming from the area where my gallbladder used to be.  It’s a constant reminder that things aren’t completely healed yet.  I’ve tried to be patient, but even though I thought things would go back to “normal” after the surgery, things haven’t been the same.

I still can’t eat large meals, and continue to eat small amounts of food throughout the day to keep my stomach settled.  I can’t eat too much tomato sauce, anything made with vinegar, or anything overly spicy.  And even though doctors swear your body will digest fats like normal, it is not true.  I can’t eat a whole lot of fatty foods without feeling a bit of the same pain and just overall digestive discomfort.

I have tried to stay the course with my vegan diet, even though I have been tempted to cheat now and then.  Even though things aren’t perfect, I know I can follow a diet that will keep me feeling as normal as possible.  And that gives me hope that I can have a normal life after gallbladder surgery.

Even with all the pain I’ve dealt with, and the discomforts I’ve had since the surgery, I am glad that something happened to me now to make me realize how important my health is.  I am currently at my lowest weight since I was in college.  I eat a variety more types of food than I ever have before in my life.  Things aren’t perfect, but I’m getting better each and every day.

Now that all of this really is behind me, I can finally look forward.  My 29th birthday is less than two weeks away and I’m freaking out.  I look at my life and constantly compare it to others.  Everyone around me is in a loving relationship, with children and homes, and good jobs.  If they don’t have children, they are either on the way or on their way soon.  Even though I’m going to be 29 I feel so lost and alone.

While voicing these sentiments out loud to my cousin last month she suggested I think of things differently.  “Why not make a 30 things to do before you turn 30 list?”  What a great idea.  I can try to do all the things I never did while I was younger, so when I do finally turn 30 I will have no regrets.  I love it!  I have been working on the list for the past few weeks and think I’m just about ready to finalize it.

So going forward, I will be writing more about my 30 before 30 list.  Don’t worry-  I will continue to write about everything else I love too!  I’ve horribly neglected my cooking adventures, and I know all of you miss that!

I’m sorry I haven’t written in two months.  I am going to vow not to do that again.  I hope you are still around and will continue to read and be a part of my journey.  I think we’ll have a lot of fun 😉

Leave a Reply

