OTAKON: The Thursday Before

IMG_0372

OTAKON!!!  It was my first convention ever.  I was so excited!  I spent weeks getting ready for it and then finally the day was here to fly off to Baltimore.  I was up at 4 a.m. on Thursday to catch a 5:55 a.m. flight out of Albany.  That was rough.  Especially since we almost missed our flight due to my friend having a bag that weighed too much.  (FYI:  A sewing machine weighs upwards of 22 lbs…)

We made it though and around 7:30 in the morning we were in Baltimore’s Inner Harbor.  It was too early to check into the hotel so we ended up spending a few hours wandering around the harbor.  I was pretty tired from not sleeping much the last few nights, so I wasn’t feeling too excited about the convention yet.  However, we did stumble upon this:

IMG_0369

That’s right, that’s a huge Barnes and Noble!  I was excited to see that and get a chance to geek out inside.  We spent quite a bit of time wandering around in there.

All around the convention center were signs advertising Otakon:

IMG_0770

I got my first glimpse of where the convention was going to be held:

IMG_0771

Registration began at 2 p.m. so after lunch we wandered over to the convention center to stand in line.  It took a while for us to figure out where to go (this thing needed more signs!!!) but we eventually got there and waited in a HUGE line.  I knew that thousands of people go to this, but I had no idea that the line to register would be so long.  After two hours we finally had our badges:

IMG_0006

Afterwards, we headed back to our hotel to make dinner and work on costumes.  Mine was already done (I purchased mine a few weeks back) but my friends still had things they needed to finish.  We also cooked dinner in our hotel room using this little appliance I purchased on Amazon:

IMG_0374

Using that 3 in 1 cooker we made Happy Herbivore Quick Burgers and turned them into delicious tacos by cooking up some veggies from my friends garden and adding in some precooked rice!

IMG_0375

After dinner the nerdiness continued with costume making and video games.  Our hotel room looked like it was hit by a dweebnado!

IMG_0649

The excitement was finally building!  Friday would be the day that I would finally go to my first convention!

Stay tuned all week- I will be posting more about my trip to Otakon!  The cosplay!  The panels!  The adventures!  You won’t want to miss it 😉

Leave a Reply

