Clary’s Coconut Pancakes

City of Bones 2

For the last couple of days I have been reading “The Mortal Instruments:  City of Bones“.  I have this thing about reading books before the movie is released in theaters.  I love to compare the book to the movie.  Mostly the book always wins.  After watching all the trailers I’m beginning to think that this movie might just be better than the book!

As I’m reading, I got to a part where all the characters go to a diner to have breakfast.  It’s a small scene, but in it Clary orders coconut pancakes.  I read a little bit further, but had to stop.  Coconut pancakes?!  I’ve never heard of those!  I went right to my kitchen and tried to make my own version.

IMG_0354

I didn’t have a whole lot of time, so I didn’t make anything too fancy.  I took a regular vegan pancake recipe and added shredded coconut to the pancakes as they were cooking.  Here’s the recipe I followed:  (It’s a slight variation of this pancake recipe from Happy Herbivore)

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 cup almond milk (unsweetened, original)
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • shredded coconut

I’m not the best at making pancakes, nor do I make them look very pretty, but I was happy with how these came out.

IMG_0355

They weren’t too overly coconut in flavor either.  The shredded coconut just added a little bit of flavor and it tasted pretty good!  For you non-vegans out there, I found this coconut pancake recipe when I did a quick search that looks pretty good too.

As for the book, I’m enjoying it so far.  Though I’m amazed at how such a small detail in the book sent me on another cooking adventure.  The book is a good read, but those coconut pancakes sounded absolutely delicious!  Hopefully they don’t bring up any other food that sounds good, or else I may never get through it in time for the movie!

I’m counting down the days until it’s out in the theaters.  Are you excited for this one too?

CityOfBones_Banner

3 responses to “Clary’s Coconut Pancakes

  1. Watched the preview again after reading the book and can see some differences and I think I am with you about being more excited for the movie!

Leave a Reply

