Potato Wedges on the Grill

flag

Happy July 4th everyone!  This year I decided to celebrate by making a good old fashioned American dinner on the grill!  I made a hot dog, burgers, and fries.  I think this may have been the first time I had a hot dog on the 4th of July.  As always, the entire meal was vegan and low fat!

If you’ve never had potatoes on the grill, you really need to try it.  They are very good!  Of course they don’t taste like french fries, or any other fried potato wedge, but they are quite good on the grill.  Here’s how I made them:

IMG_0318

First you boil the potatoes (or just one like I did) for about 6 minutes.  I wasn’t sure how good these were going to turn out so I only tried it on one potato!

IMG_0319

Drain the potatoes and rinse them with cold water.  Once they are cool enough to touch you can cut them up into whatever shape you want.  I went with a wedge shape.  I thought they would be easier to flip on the grill that way.  Once cut, I sprayed both sides with cooking spray and added spices:

IMG_0320

On the left I used garlic powder and salt to season the potatoes.  On the right I used a recipe from “Cookouts Veggie Style!” called “Paprika and Mustard Steak Fries”.  It’s a spicy mix!

IMG_0321

Once you have everything ready to go, set it up on the grill and start cooking!  (Also pictured here:  Happy Herbivore Quick Burgers)

Look at those grill marks!

IMG_0323

IMG_0324

I didn’t keep track of how much time it took to grill these.  I just checked the side faced down, and once it showed grill marks I flipped it over.  Then when the other side looked done I took them off.

IMG_0326

IMG_0327

It was really fun to celebrate our national holiday by cooking on the grill.  What did you do for the 4th of July?  I hope it was a good one!  🙂

Leave a Reply

