Vegan Food Showcase

LavaCake-Vegan

When I first talked about making this blog I wasn’t sure exactly what I would write about.  I had been posting pictures of the food I was making on facebook and found I had a small following of people who were always interested in the newest “tasty creation”.  My best friend suggested to me that instead of posting to facebook, I should post those pictures on a blog.  What a great idea!

Here is a showcase of many of the foods I have made since I decided to go on this vegan adventure!

EggplantCurry

This I’ve already talked about, but here it is again:  Eggplant Curry from “The Moosewood Cookbook

TomatoBasilBisque

Tomato Basil Bisque with Pumpernickel Croutons from “Chloe’s Kitchen

Eggplant and Miso Soup

Miso Meal!  Miso Glazed Eggplant (Chloe’s Kitchen) and home made miso soup

CreamyCarrotSoup

Creamy Carrot Soup- “The Happy Herbivore”    Made creamy by using rolled oats

IMG_0155

Massaman Curry-  A recipe found on recipes.com and altered to be vegan

SweetPotatoGnocchi

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Sage Butter-  “Chloe’s Kitchen”  Delicious!  But such a pain to make.  Rolling gnocchi is not easy!

Those who know me well (or read my last post), know I’m obsessed with macaroni and cheese.  I spent many months trying to perfect the vegan version.  Here are a few tries:

VeganMacNCheese

Easy Mac and Cheese–  “The Happy Herbivore”

VeganBakedMacnCheese

Baked Shells and Cheese-  “The Happy Herbivore”

PerfectVeganMacnCheez

Vegan Mac N’ Cheese–  Chef Chloe  This one was definitely my favorite, once I perfected it!  The trick is to use unsweetened almond milk.  For whatever reason soy milk just doesn’t work for the way I like it.

Fritattahomefries

Spinach Fritatta and Herbed Home Fries-  “The Happy Herbivore”

GreenGoblinMuffin

Green Goblin Muffins–   These were made for Saint Patrick’s Day!

BlueberryOatmealMuffins

Blueberry Oatmeal Muffins-  “The Happy Herbivore”  I was on a muffin kick for a while and these were probably my favorite

blackbeanbrownie

Black Bean Brownie–  These brownies were so good!  They actually tasted better after they sat for a day or so

CarrotCakePancakes

Carrot Cake Pancakes- “Everyday Happy Herbivore”    My pancakes usually come out horrible, but these look pretty.  I just wish the carrots were cooked more!

VeganAlfredoSteamVeggies

Fettucine Alfredo- “Chloe’s Kitchen”  Alfredo sauce made using almonds, garlic, and onion.  This was ridiculously good!

SweetSourTempeh

Sweet and Sour Tempeh-  “Everyday Happy Herbivore”

MushroomStirFry

Spicy Mushroom Stir Fry-  “Everyday Happy Herbivore”

SpicyChickpeas

Spicy Mustard Chickpeas-  “Happy Herbivore Abroad”    This is my latest obsession.  Spicy chickpeas!!!

MongolianBBQ

Mongolian BBQ Seitan-  “Chloe’s Kitchen”  I had never made/heard of seitan before.  I plan to make and post more about it!

MexicanChorizo

Mexican Chorizo-  “The Happy Herbivore”  This chorizo is made using quinoa and a variety of spices to give it a sausage like flavor

IMG_0291

BBQ Tofu Pineapple Pizza-  “Chloe’s Kitchen”  There has never been a time where I ate a ton of pizza and didn’t feel disgusting.  That is, until I ate this pizza.  Filling but not greasy.  Tons of flavor!  I like it better than regular cheese pizza!

IMG_0275

Tempeh Picatta- “Chloe’s Kitchen”  I taught one of my friends how to cook with tempeh and this is what we made

HawiianChickpeaT

Hawaiian Teriyaki Chickpeas- “The Happy Herbivore”

DeviledEggsPaprika

Deviled Eggs–  One of my favorite things to eat at holiday get togethers is deviled eggs.  I was so excited when I found this vegan version!  They taste really good, and obviously not exactly the same but the flavor is quite similar

ChickpeaBurgers

Thai Chickpea Burgers-  “Chloe’s Kitchen”

Chickpea Tacos

Double Decker Chickpea Tacos–  Refried black beans were used to hold the hard shell and soft shell together.  This is one of my favorite meals to make for non-vegans.  I haven’t had one person tell me they don’t like them!

CarrotCakeCupcakes

Carrot Cake Cupcakes–    These were just amazing!

IMG_0263

Strawberry Cupcakes-  “The Happy Herbivore”  These remind me a little of strawberry shortcake.  There is a hint of lemon in the cake part!

IMG_0260

Mint Cookies ‘n’ Cream Cupcakes-  “Chloe’s Vegan Desserts”    I made these for my mom on Mother’s day.  They were a hit!

VeganCCOatmeal

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie-  “The Happy Herbivore”  This was my first attempt at cooking with applesauce.  They didn’t come out too terrible!  I thought they tasted very good and were very moist.  Might not be good for someone who likes a crunchier cookie.

EspressoCookie

Cinnamon-Espresso Chocolate Chip Cookie-  “Chloe’s Kitchen”  My best friend went absolutely nuts for these cookies!  I’m still not sure how I feel about them.  They don’t look anything like they do in the book, but they taste good!

That’s it for now!  Stay tuned, as I will be posting more food as I try new recipes! Have any questions/comments about what I’ve written about here?  Post in the comments below.  See you next time!

Leave a Reply

